June 17, 2024

2019 Award Recipients

The Association of Clinicians for the Underserved (ACU), the premier organization of clinicians, advocates, and healthcare organizations that provide healthcare for underserved populations, today announced the recipients of its annual award program. The awardees include clinicians, health professionals in training, advocates, congressional champions, and organizations that have demonstrated a commitment to improve healthcare for underserved populations.

This year’s recipients are:

  • Debra Lupeika, MDClinician of the Year

This award is in recognition of her work to design, implement, and expand residency programs in California.

  • Zero Overdose ProjectOrganizational Excellence

This award is in recognition of the program’s commitment to the underserved, particularly through its effective tools for clinicians and patients to use during high-risk transition periods in their lives.

  • Jessica AdkinsHealth Professional in Training/Student

This award is in recognition of her dedicated service at the University of Kentucky College of Medicine while providing health and safety education to underserved populations.

  • U.S. Senator Roy BluntCongressional Champion

This award is in recognition of his strong support for increasing access to primary care across the country and leadership on behalf of the National Health Service Corps program.

Additionally, Marc Wetherhorn will be presented with the first-ever ACU Advocacy Award. Starting in 2020, the award will be renamed in his honor and awarded to an individual who most exemplifies his lifetime of substantial advocacy work.

“It truly is an honor to acknowledge the meaningful contributions that these awardees have made in their communities and across the nation,” said Craig Kennedy, executive director of the Association of Clinicians for the Underserved. “The 2019 Association of Clinicians for the Underserved awardees represent the variety and vitality of leaders in the movement to improve the health of America’s underserved populations.”

The awards reception will take place during ACU’s 2019 annual conference in Washington D.C. on Monday, July 30 from 6:00 to 8:00 pm. The conference’s early bird registration rate ends on June 14, 2019. For more information and to register, visit https://bit.ly/2VtZ4cb. Conference sponsorships are immediately available by contacting Cindy Martin at cmartin@clinicians.org